“I love you, but you don’t know what you’re talking about.”

Yesterday I went to see this acclaimed flick with some of my family.

Let’s Build A Kingdom!!

Romancing, fantastical footage charmed me even when the lulls in the plot line couldn’t.  (I’m a Wes Anderson fanatic and was hoping for the next Royal Tenenbaums.)  Obviously when Suzy and Sam started dancing on the beach, I was all smiles!  There is this sensitivity to Sam, but meanwhile he’s very no nonsense.  Quite funny.  My favorite line has to be “I love you, but you don’t know what you’re talking about,” in reference to Suzy’s delusional self-pity.  Another significant part of the film, although somber, was the scene in The Bishop’s bedroom as the couple shares apologies with one another.  We could all use a hard, honest moment like that.

Go see it.

I was also was rooting for the girl behind the pencil:  Jessica Hische.  Her typography, namely in the opening credits, set the tone for this quirky, nostalgic film.  I love to see a talented artist catch her big break.

Get it Girllllll

The “About” section of her website is probably the best I’ve ever read.  Gumption is the name of her game. Rare to find among the portfolio websites of freelancing professionals, she also has a “Thoughts” tab where she dishes advice to other hopefuls in the industry.  I applaud her efforts and am always seeking inspiration from the design aficionados.  Frankly, I need it!  Sometimes I just don’t know what I’m talking about.

One thought on ““I love you, but you don’t know what you’re talking about.”

  1. Im still waiting for the day when I open this blog and see an entire post boasting about how awesome I am…. In the meantime, call me so I can see you before you leave me all alone again! Love love love. -Em

Leave a Reply

