Don’t overlook it

Any chance you’re feelin’ a little burnt out?

– Projects have you heavy on the snooze button

– Craving more involvement in some new deal going on at the 9 to 5

– You keep tailoring that fancy rez that everyone tells you to stop touching

Sounds like you’re VISUAL, and have also discovered the dandy world of “Freelance.” Eyes bigger than your stomach have you begging for more! Stimulating projects have your mind dancing and prancing throughout the otherwise mundane parts of your day. My visual nature is probably my most favored flaw. At least I’m learning, evolving, and pushing through those rough, underutilized patches of my skill set. Let’s face it – we have to embrace the hand we were dealt, right?

But damn I’m tired.

Last night by happenstance I flipped through some old work and was delightfully surprised by how much it eased me up!! Recommending it highly right about now.

Acrylic in 2008 + graphics in 2011:

Lennon + Blooms (Swedish ones!)

Varied pieces dating back to 2004:

A page of the portfolio

You see – that thing (for me it’s an image) that triggers a “God, that was fun” memory – that’s IT. That’s what you have alone to experience, and once you’ve become familiarized and truly appreciative: that’s what you have to share. I’m not just talking fine art here. Anything that you care about enough to work towards mastering is an “art.”

Don’t overlook it

Oddly enough, those times where we’re knee deep in “it” are the times we’re least cognizant of the magnitude of what we’re actually capable of. But for now, as I look at that oil pastel of the girl in the white dress, I think:

A) 2004? 15 years old? You didn’t even have boobs yet! And you drew that?

… which in turn causes thought B) wow.

I know, I know, this is a public blog and I just gave myself a wow. But it’s NECESSARY sometimes. (Other visually-crazed readers understand that we are always our own toughest critic.)

Progress is all around you, whether or not your photoshop file is still 5 layers away from paradise.

And one more tasty bite to chew on while we’re at it:

Lula Mag: Girl of my dreams issue

Found this UK mag at the Tattered Cover while strolling through before a delish’ lunch at Encore. Side note: Whoever’s responsible for adjoining two of my favorite Denver spots under one roof, well… I’d like to give you a hug. And anyways, this page stood out to me. I love it when a little fine print puts me in my place. When you wake up with a positive intention for your day, and you know you’re working hard, you can rest assured that you are where you are meant to be. It may not be glamorous, but there is a lot to be said for those glamour-gaps.

Don’t mistake being tired for being in a rut. Imagine quite the opposite my darling.

Happy fresh week to you and yours,

Lauren

2 thoughts on “Don’t overlook it

  1. This resonates with me really well. That 9 to 5 (sometimes ending up being a 9:00 to 9:00) plus the night job makes me wonder if I’m living too fast for my own good. Am I embracing the small things in life? Are my priorities lining up with my actions? Am I making enough time to really be where I want to be at the end of the day?

    We all need to remember that making a “living” is not the same thing as making a “life”.

    Let’s all continue to put LIFE before LIVING this year. The year of the dragon is upon us! 

Leave a Reply

